New product features you can try in XWiki Cloud starting today

12 Mar 2020 5 min read
Written by the XWiki Team

Hey there! We're happy to inform you that our cloud demo platform has just been updated to XWiki 11.10.3, bringing new features and bug fixes.

Here are some of our favorite updates that you can try on XWiki Cloud starting today.

Partial Wiki Export

This has been a long-awaited feature in XWiki and we're happy to be able to include it in our latest update. You can now do a partial XAR export of your wiki from the wiki administration by selecting the pages you wish to export from a tree.

PartialWikiExport.png

Merge on save

Starting with the current update, whenever two users save a document at the same time, instead of always displaying a window to the user asking what to do, we first try to perform a merge of both documents. If the changes concern two separate parts of the document the user won't even notice that a merge has been performed.
If both users try to edit the same part of the document and there is a conflict, a new window will be displayed, asking the user how to proceed.

Visual diff

You can now view how a page has changed visually from one version to another. By clicking on the ellipsis you can expand the context and see the parts that have not changed.

VisualDiff.png

Enable/disable a user account

Disable a user account and enable it back directly from the user profile. A disabled user can log in but will not be able to perform any action once logged-in.

Multiple login attacks protection

A new authentication security module is now integrated to prevent attacks on user accounts. In the case of repeated authentication failures, you can:

  • ask the user to answer a CAPTCHA challenge (default)
  • or disable the user account (in which case an administrator will have to activate it back)

The actions are triggered whenever a user repeatedly failed to login in a given time window.

MultipleLoginAttacksProtection.png]

Replace author when deleting users

When thinking about removing a user account from your organisation, the recommended process is to disable the user. This prevents them from logging in and it doesn't break the scripts that they last modified. However, if you're determined to delete the user altogether, you can now choose another user account with similar access rights to replace the deleted one as the page author of existing pages.

Password security policy

You can now create custom password policy rules. They will be applied whenever passwords are set in the registration phase. They will also be enforced later, whenever users choose to modify their passwords.

User Directory configuration live preview

The User Directory configuration has a new setting to be able to show/hide disabled users. Disabled users are now hidden by default. The users live table is will be updated automatically whenever the configuration is modified.

If you'd like to read the full list of changes that were introduced in the latest versions, you can take a look at the XWiki project release notes

To try out the features you can create a demo in a couple of minutes.

If you’re already an XWiki Cloud client and would like to be updated to this version with priority, please get in touch and we’ll be happy to assist.

You may also be interested in: